I joined a 30 day Macrobiotic Marathon-Day 1: Introduction to Macrobiotic cuisine and before starting Lasagne. Next installment will include Beet Carrot Sauce Mushroom sauce influenced by Luchi Baranda of the Kushi Institute.

IMG_20140829_160351Hello virtual visitors.  My blog has morphed into a Macrobiotic cuisine site, under the original name Savyatseventy. This is the third installment.

Credit must be given to Klara LeVine and to the generous Kosher cooking contributing members of the Yahoo group MacroloversofJerusalem, who are my friends, supporters, and inspiration. During our pot luck dinners and on-line conversations, members tirelessly respond to my novice questions. Macro-lovers are encouraged to join the group and participate in the conversation.

In addition, many of the macro inspired recipes that I’ll share, were produced in collaboration with my grand-daughter, Sara Edelstein  and her seminary friends.  Their comments, participation, and encouragement provided great inspiration. When they visited, I felt like the entire family, including her brothers and sister were in the room. I imagined her brother Yehuda peeking in. When he was about 6 years old he said, “My babbi never met a vegetable that she didn’t like”. Sara’s friends remarked that they would try to eat in a healthier way when they would get back to the States. Maybe through this blog, I’ll get some feed-back from them.

Grandmothers want to hold on to their offspring. There is nothing sweeter than a grandchild’s touch. Cooking together affords a connection. Francois Sagan so elegantly stated: A young woman is loved because she is beautiful and an older woman is beautiful when she feels loved. So I can feel beautiful when surrounded by my grand-children and their friends. Together we are developing positive feelings about food and how it sustains and nourishes us.

To get back to my framework, MacroloversofJerusalem provides support and exchange of information for a macrobiotic way of life within a Jewish traditional context. Any information that you cull from this blog is to their credit.
Your criticisms are to my detriment. Each blog will contain some basic information relating to kitchen tools purchasing in Israel,  including  tips, followed by a current recipe. There will also be comparisons made between cooking and painting (my work). It is essential to understand the tools of one’s media.  In cooking, the stove is the means and the tool is gas. That is why I am spending time on it here.

For newcomers to Israel, the challenges and rewards are numerous. Many experienced, cooks, grimace at the use of an electric stove top and oven,  or an electric stove top and gas oven.

After considerable research, I chose the  Italian all gas La Cucina 24inch (60 cm) model, which can be seen at:  http://www.la-cucina.co.il/Entity.aspx?pid=68.  Our kitchen, although large, could hold a larger one. I just didn’t want to give up the space.

This is not an ad for La Cucina, an Italian company, nor is it meant to be technical just to show off.  I inquired among many sources about the  availability of a free-standing oven. There were none made in Israel that work totally on gas. Th e choice was based on my personal familiarity with gas as the cooking element. I’ve since learned that gas is preferred for macrobiotic cuisine. The top burners are 29 cm., larger than a built-in stove-top would provide where the knobs take up space. The oven features also normal convection, which I use all the time and the control board  has a clock and a light. The light stays on until the oven cools down. However, the section of dials in the front get very hot when the oven is going at 150 C. My old Chambers oven in the states didn’t have that problem It weighed a ton and was very well insulated and the sides and other surfaces never got hot when the oven was on. In addition, the door can be removed for cleaning.

I didn’t purchase any of the additional options pictured in the link photo. The cheapest model La Cucina will take a toll on your budget. Still, I have no regrets over the purchase.

It was purchased at  ILVE – La Cucina exclusive importers of La Cucina Ovens in Israel.

(Showroom Address: Ilhwa Kishon 16 Bnei Brak (Ayalon Mall Area) For reservations and information  03-5707191 central Showroom Hours: Sunday – Thursday 08:00 – 18:00 Fridays and holiday eves 08:00 to 13:00).

TIP: Please take note that this cook has no time to polish stainless steel cooking surfaces around the burners. Before Passover the local hardware stores offer an extra heavy duty aluminum roll to cover large area.

Pasta Making with Kitchen Aid
Pasta Making with Kitchen Aid

The thickness of the material requires that it be cut with shears rather than the zig-zag edge of the aluminum roll box. This extra heavy duty aluminum is perfect to cover the cooking surface. Once the cut-outs for the burners are made the surface is easy to clean with a sponge. I cheat and use  a vacuum tool to pick up crumbs. I also lined the removable lower section of the oven. This oven is NOT self-cleaning. This has not been a problem since it is only used for Pareve (meatless) baking and roasting.

Secondly, the cooking related story:

The Kitchen Aid mixer, featured in the photo, I obtained second-hand with all  the attachments in a Satmar Chassidishe Store on Ross Street in Williamsburg, Brooklyn for $30.00. I  hesitated for a second, before the purchase. It is quite large.

I was still living in Queens and my grand-daughters were not yet in their teens. I considered, “Save it for one of them?” . But then I grabbed it. I knew that the only reason it was donated to the Satmar store was that the machine can’t work with 5 lbs of flour at one shot. Satmar ladies want to prepare several loaves of challah at one time.  At a later date, I purchased the salad-maker attachments, the set came to Israel on a lift. Most recently, the pasta attachments came to me with my daughter on a trip.

As an aside, Kosher cooks will know that Kashrut requires one learn the basics of tevilla (immersion of cooking vessels in a mikveh).

After many e-mails to KitchenAid it became clear that the lasagne attachment would not work if it was immersed in water. It would be ruined. I consulted with Rabbi Berel Wein. He was adamant that we don’t destroy a mechanism if the manufacturers of the item prohibit contact with water.

Just recently I went back and found the opinion of Rabbi Moshe Heinemann, Star-K Rabbinic Administrator, http://www.star-k.org/kashrus/kk-containers-tevilas.htm

  • Utensils used exclusively with raw, non-edible food, e.g. cookie cutters or a metal tenderizer hammer, do not need tevila. That would include my pasta attachments.

 

The Satmar store is owned by the educational institutions of the Satmar Chassidum.  All funds collected from sales support their schools.

In the photo I am  preparing lasagna noodles according to the pasta machine’s recipe. The instructions from Kitchen Aid are very brief. Use the internet to trouble shoot the biggest problem, which are the holes in the dough. The trick is to run the dough through many times more than the recipe suggests on the zero setting and then move up to 1,2 etc.

(end of first blog). Recipe on next.

Beet Carrot Sauce Mushroom sauce influenced by Luchi Baranda of the Kushi Institute and incorporation into GreenKitchenStories’ Lasagna (contributing substitute for tomato sauce and cheese).
Serves at least 4 persons 

This is one of those dishes that works well making a day in advance. The flavors will become more intense and the vegetables more tender.

LeHikraot,

Ida

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

