Post 163: In my Jerusalem neighborhood you can find everything even a worm supply for my roof garden compost bin.

Greeting! The Feuerman tradition is grafted on to 21C technology!.

Feuerman is my maiden name and perhaps you too have a member of your family  who keeps up with the family’s goings on. Every family  kept in touch with scattered family members by writing letters.  This holder of the torch is now extending the “Family Circular” concept  to friends and acquaintances  (a La word.press). My father,  Max Feuerman,  (azl), wrote a “Family  Circular” thru the 1940’s to the  60’s Can’t promise that my future posts will be as entertaining as his were. Mine will be perhaps more earthy. I certainly didn’t anticipate writing a “Green” blog, throwing around terms like “Sustainability” and ” Zero-scaping”. Here you will get one Israeli’s take on these ideas.

Today’s blog is not about garden design,  nor about “Sustainability” and ” Zero-scaping” per se, but about the people who I have met in the process of putting a roof garden together.  Accomplishing the job chik-chock (quickly), some might say would entail one stop at the  nursery choosing some annual plants, some shade loving plants,  and bags of earth. Of course raised up pots and  drip irrigation from our apartment on a pump and timer would be in place . That activity would throw some sheckels into the economy.

But, running the water seems costly in the long run and risky because we are not always here. And the piping would have to extend over 4 flights outside the window. And trial and error would have been my dad’s way to go.  The conditions are harsh six flights up. the heat and the wind are permanent factors. The need to have a pretty space was not vital. That would be later down the line.

In subsequent blog entries you’ll see how the garden evolved. Please reply guys.

Several weeks ago I came across eight wooden flats. They were standing outside the art store on the corner. They looked perfect for a base for planters.

Many of you are familiar with composting.  Simply put, composting turns green scraps from vegetables into compost,  which helps plants thrive. Compost also holds water and releases it slowly. Water consumption is taken very seriously in Israel.

Along with Maho Steinberg, who is the building’s volunteer manager, I have access to my building’s roof.  She pays the bills out of our monthly maintainance fee. I pay regularly into the kupah (the building’s coffers and she allows me pretty much exclusive use of the roof on one side to develop. That’s about 50 square meters.

I did some research on the net to learn how I, as a single citizen, can “Promote Green Jobs and Exports in a  Green Water Economy in Israel”.  In sum, that amounts to decreasing water  use.

Many frIends have contributed plants. posted the following to Jerusalem Re-Use-It. JRU is a site where residents request and offer items.

I had a nice am’t of composting worms and now they seems to have all beat the dust. (June 2014). Shaul is a source for woms.

please suggest sources.

 <JerusalemReUseIt-noreply@yahoogroups.com>

Jun 5 (4 days ago)

to me
in the chevrah lehaganat hatevah, near the Russian compound you can get them for a few shekel.
right near you.
behatzlacha.

Ida Farkash <chavaida@gmail.com>

Jun 5 (4 days ago)

to shaul_morgenst.

Hi Shaul,

I know the Russian Compound, but have not been around there for a while.
chevrah lehaganat hatevah, near the Russian compound? Is this part of SP NATURE IN THE SERGEI COURT-YARD?
I know the parking lot.
Please help me out.
shaul morgenstern
you got it right! in the court yard, they have a store, they will help.
Jun 6 (3 days ago)

Ida Farkash <chavaida@gmail.com>

Jun 6 (3 days ago)

to shaul

Hi Shaul,

Thank you for your reply. Know anybody by name there?

What hours? and days?
The reason that I ask is that recently I’ve learned to CALL FIRST on the right day. My hand surgeon’s sect’y makes appointments at Hadassah one day a week and the firm “Shaul” that assists in getting passports  has not been open (King George) sooo do you have a cell number? to call for composting worms?
Kol Tuv,
ida
shaul morgenstern

in fact I do- or did. I was in contact with yishay blumental 0503689715

dont know if he is still involved.
call him, cant harm. in the worst case you will bet a bark, but you cant bite someone over the phone… (yet)
good shabbos,
leaving work (and internet connection) till sunday.
be well.
Jun 6 (3 days ago)

Ida Farkash <chavaida@gmail.com>

Jun 6, 2014, 1 year ago

to shaul

thanks,

Ida

Ida Farkash <chavaida@gmail.com>

7:08 PM (13 minutes ago)

to shaul

Hi Shaul,

Thanks for replying. I tried to reach Yishai Blumental, formerly Director of Education SPNI, Jerusalem-that 050 number is off. Never heard the term bet a bark. Had a “no bark” time getting any help at SPNI from Stella. She woke up when I said the Director in Tel Aviv told me that her office would help me. (Did I use the term correctly?)

I declared how important it was that I reach Yishai as he was  interviewed in a study called Promoting Green Jobs and Exports in a Green Water Economy in Israel. Was not given the courtesy of speaking to her boss. Stella gave me another wrong number. – reached Yishai after calling Natural History Museum. They gave me his cell number. He didn’t have a lot- so sof  sof got worms at 64 Ha Neviim – from Oded 054-311-7130 thru Yisha’s referral.
30Sh and I also got a lot of plant cuttings.
Please give me an example of Bet a Bark in context? Is this from the Florida everglades with alligators?
Kol Tuv,
Ida
This has been a fun day and it’s not over yet.
I’ve attached a section of sugar cane that I got from a vendor on Ben YehSara, our wonderful grand-daughter came by to say goodbye. She gave me big hugs of appreciation.

Now, a year later, I am continuing to explore the worm connection. More specifically, how to keep worms alive under severe drought conditions as on a roof? After last summer the I was losing hope for my composting. The worms seemed gone.

This past winter, when there were freezing temperatures, I moved the bins inside the hallway and added a few from a source in my machson (indoor basement storage room containing a window.

In the hallway, in front of the roof entrance, there were masses of flies, so much so that I considered getting traps.

Now, placed on the roof again, one year later, covered with white transparent sheeting in the same bins and raised up on wood palates, the worms are content. The fly problem has disappeared.

I’m postulating that the worms can bury themselves in the dirt which I have covered with several inches of grass clippings. The flies on the other hand can’t burrow and the heat  is just too much on the surface of the compost bin for them to survive.

20150813_094244
Do you see the two wrigglers?

 

20150813_093323
I was shocked to see this plant flower in draught conditions.

Leave a Reply

