Post 365: Eye Opening Poem for Yom Kippor: Terrific Musical Comedy for Women and Girls: Daddy Act : Olive Picking Tour: Neve Yerushalayim PRESENTS CONCERT OF PROFESSIONAL MUSIC & DANCE plus Simchas Beis Hashoeivah with Live Music for Women

 

Image result for peeled peach
Image result for peeled peach
Image result for peeled peach
Image result for peeled peach

 

The above are links  to photos of peeled peaches. Just press on one. What a flush of golden orange. If a fruit could blush it would look like that.

A peach has a thin peel. Immersing a frozen cabbage leaf into boiling water will also cause the “spine” with a little scraping to reveal a “peel” just like the peach.. The peach and the cabbage have that protective outer layer. It is fragile. That layer we feel in the market and make judgement about a selection.

That protective layer  often but not always, tastes, feels and smells like a fruit and vegetable.in our hands.

What does this say about humans? On the simplest level, don’t cause harm or distress to others. That doesn’t mean keep your distance. Keeping distance from others, from the sick, the poor, the elderly, is a poor  way to protect oneself.  The peel of the fruit and vegetable has a purpose. Be mindful.

What is the purpose of Yom Kippur fast?  Rabbi Levi Yitzchak of Berditchev said that he was “unable” to eat on that day  because he was excited to be with his creator all day. (Quoted from Rabbi Shlomo Riskin).

I pray that the day will afford me that pleasure.

 

from http://dwellingplacebelow.blogspot.com/search/label/Yom%20Kippur

Beautiful thoughts to consider throughout the next few days before our own days of Judgement. I will be Judged through these next days. How well will I “size-up”,  how have I judged others? How compassionate, caring, non-judgmental and loving am I?

See Me (a poem written by an elderly woman found among her possessions

from: http://dwellingplacebelow.blogspot.com/search/label/Yom%20Kippur

What do you see, nurses, what do you see?Are you thinking, when you look at me —

A crabby old woman, not very wise, Uncertain of habit, with far-away eyes,

Who dribbles her food and makes no reply,

When you say in a loud voice — “I do wish you’d try.”

Who seems not to notice the things that you do,

And forever is losing a stocking or shoe,

Who unresisting or not, lets you do as you will,

With bathing and feeding, the long day to fill.

Is that what you’re thinking, is that what you see?

Then open your eyes, nurse, you’re looking at ME…

I’ll tell you who I am, as I sit here so still;

As I rise at your bidding, as I eat at your will.

I’m a small child of ten with a father and mother,

Brothers and sisters, who love one another,

A young girl of sixteen with wings on her feet.

Dreaming that soon now a lover she’ll meet;

A bride soon at twenty — my heart gives a leap,

Remembering the vows that I promised to keep;

At twenty-five now I have young of my own,

Who need me to build a secure, happy home;

A woman of thirty, my young now grow fast,

Bound to each other with ties that should last;

At forty, my young sons have grown and are gone,

But my man’s beside me to see I don’t mourn;

At fifty once more babies play ’round my knee,

Again we know children, my loved one and me.

Dark days are upon me, my husband is dead,

I look at the future, I shudder with dread,

For my young are all rearing young of their own,

And I think of the years and the love that I’ve known;

I’m an old woman now and nature is cruel —

‘Tis her jest to make old age look like a fool.

 

The body is crumbled, grace and vigor depart,

There is now a stone where once I had a heart,

But inside this old carcass a young girl still dwells,

And now and again my battered heart swells.

 

I remember the joys, I remember the pain,

And I’m loving and living life over again,

I think of the years, all too few — gone too fast,

And accept the stark fact that nothing can last —

So I open your eyes, nurses, open and see,

Not a crabby old woman, look closer, nurses — see ME

 

Wed Oct 5, 2016 7:20 am (PDT) . Posted by:

ylmylm2001

Don’t miss this.

Daddy Act is a wonderful, heartwarming musical comedy for women and girls, BY women and girls.
Produced and directed by Ruthi Wolfson and Avigail Hool, who is also starring in the main role.

Daddy Act is touching, amusing and above all FUNNY with music, dancing and gymnastics. It’s got a terrific story line which you can’t help getting caught up in.
Do yourself a favor and come. With your daughters, mother and mother in law.

Dates: November 14, 15 and 16
Venue: Gerard Behar (Bet Ha’am), Jerusalem
Time: 7:30 pm prompt
Tickets: 053-3155665 or 08-974-1277 Sun-Thurs. 10-12 or 8-10 OR
online at: http://theelectronicboxoffice.com/DaddyAct http://theelectronicboxoffice.com/DaddyAct

The play is a benefit for Lev Leachim and half of the amount of your ticket can be considered Ma’aser money. ALL PROCEEDS GO TO LEV LEACHIM.

Reuveni Market
Ma'ale Adumim English Speakers Community Website

Home Messages Join Mailing List Post a Message Phone Book News Blog MA Info FAQ

---------

EVENT: Olive Picking Day

shelley and david brinn brinn@netvision.net.il
October 6, 2016, 9:36 am

Hi group!

The city of Maale Adumim together with Tour Adumim
invites you to participate in the annual olive harvest
on October 26 from 10-12 at the Youth Park. ( After Sukkot).

The program includes olive picking, and visit to
Chagai Bibi Memorial in Youth Park. This is a free activity
but add- ons are possible
( trip to Aleinu Hydroponic Farm-35 shekels,
Lunch at Ziggies-35 shekels)

There are only 30 places left so register today!

touradumim@gmail.com

Hope to see you there!

Shelley Brinn

NEVE YERUSHALAYIM PRESENTS CONCERT OF PROFESSIONAL MUSIC & DANCE
plus Simchas Beis Hashoeivah with Live Music for Women

Dvar Torah: Rebbetzin Tzipporah Heller MC: Mrs. Chana Levitan

Chol HaMoed Sukkos
Wednesday Evening, October 19
Doors open 7:45 Concert starts 8:30 prompt
Neve Yerushalayim Campus, Har Nof

Early Bird Special: Pay by Oct. 10 and receive discounted tickets:
40 NIS adults/35 student/35 group rate (10 tickets & more)

Tickets can be purchased online in advance (no later than October 10)
by credit card at www.nevey.org/A -Night-To-Remember http://www.nevey.org/A%20-Night-To-Remember
or by calling (02) 654-5619 between the hours of 10:30 am – 2:30 pm
50 NIS at Door

All proceeds go to Neve Yershalayim
Simchas Beis Hashoeivah only for those who attend concert
Children under the age of 6 will NOT be admitted
Please call 054-952-1645 for more information or email EllenClyman@…                               mailto:EllenClyman@

Leave a Reply

