Post 389: The Downs and Ups of Losing and Finding my Teudat Zehut left on an Egged Buss in Jerusalem; A Recipe for Home made Kinetic Sand from http://livingithaca.com/diy/make-kinetic-sand/ Thursday Dec. 22@ 7pm- Chanuka- Embracing our Inner Light- with Rabbi Sam Shor-This is the first of a new monthly lecture series to be held in conjunction with Shir Hadash…There is no fee for these FREE lectures….3 Chopin Street, lower leve

 

There is a great deal of anxiety engendered when one is faced with losing one’s  Teudat Zehut on a bus. One is required by law to have this identification card on one’s person.

It’s recommended to immediately report any lost or possibly stolen Teudat Zehut (get and keep on file the Police Report) as identity theft is not uncommon, and the Misrad HaPnim may request this information. I reported the theft, but didn’t get a Police Report. The police clerk suggested returning to the depot and to be patient. Trusting that it will all work out with Hashem’s help is vital.

To renew a lost T.Z., one needs to fill out a form and provide photos and proof of identity and to request a new sefach (stub containing a list of family members). All this takes hours. In addition, my RAV card was in the Teudat Zehut case.

I left the T.Z. on the number 9 bus in the direction  Binyanei Ha Uma on Friday. Dec 2nd. I had it when I entered the bus at Rechovot KKL Ysrael and Ussishkin and didn’t have it when I got off at Trumpeldor in Mirkaz Ha’Ir, three stops later!

There were a few people on the bus on that rainy morning at 10:30 and it was possible that someone picked it up rather than the driver.

Sitting down and making up a flow chart is helpful to locating a lost item.  I listed the possible places to look and then tried to find a reliable source each step of the way towards the goal of recovery. Today is the 8th day after the loss and thankfully the last.

The following information IS NOT CORRECT.

I am posting this erroneous information that I heard from a driver of a number 9 bus as a warning. Shouldn’t he be correct? Not necessarily!

I erroneously thought that my Teudat Zehut might be with the controller at Sniff Malcha, which is perhaps the same address as the last stop; Givat Mordekhai Junction (Herzog/Shakhal). I mistakenly thought that the number 9 bus that I took in the direction of Binyanei Ha Uma does a loop and returns to Malcha. With that incorrect assumption and information I considered going to Malcha (bad idea).

I opened a tic (file)  at the Egged Lost & Found *2800 and with the Police at 107 Jaffa.

I want to thank Oren Hirsch publicly. Oren writes Oren’s Transit Page for Jerusalem, New York and Washington D.C. He kindly identified with my quest and corrected me  saving me loads of time:  He advised me to return this morning to Egged L&F on the 3rd floor CBS. They checked the status of my tik and brought me the wonderful news that my TZ was listed as found in the Sniff HaUma.

This was like winning the lottery. The clerk’s directions were  not made clear where to pick it up –  He said go next to Binyanei HaUma’s parking area.

This parking area is as large as a football field and it is dotted with shacks.

The following is Oren’s advice and explanation for my confusion in finding the depot in Ha Uma.

“Each route is assigned to a depot, and despite what you may have been told, the 9 operates from HaUma, not Malha (though there are situations in which a Malha bus might find itself filling in on the 9).  While those assignments are usually pretty constant, they can change for operational reasons (the 50 used to be at HaUma, now it is at Malha, the 13 used to be at Malha, now it is at Talpiot, routes such as the 405 and 480 operate from a depot in Tel Aviv and a depot in Jerusalem, etc).  Furthermore, HaUma is an unusual depot, because it has both an upper and lower section, and routes that operate from other depots (such as the 18 and 15) “layover” there between trips after terminating at the CBS.  it sounds like you got sent to the upper section first even though you really needed to be at the lower for the lost and found.  Reasons such as this are why I don’t provide specific instructions on how to handle this situation, other than to contact Egged directly and work with them… As you had to acknowledge in order to send me your initial email, my website is not affiliated with any transit agency and I do not handle any official inquiries on their behalf.”

The drivers have a large spacious area next to the various shacks with an adjacent garden with a table and chairs for dining. 20161212_112747.jpgThe photo designates one of many shacks called HaUma. It’s a bit confusing. The sign is attached to poles that make up a shaded garden area.

I waited 2 hours for the clerk to return from a meeting. In the meantime I was treated to coffee and the Arab Egged drivers gladly helped me with my Arabic homework.20161019_083851.jpg

Imagine, as in the photo, not too long ago the means of getting around were by horse and carriage and donkeys.

The Egged drivers have a small “gesheft”, a business-outside the door where dry goods are sold and I also shopped there. I waited in the lounge area.20161212_115055.jpga bit. Yes, the official channels worked.

 

Below are instructions from the Ithica website: http://livingithaca.com. This home-made Kinetic Sand would make a great Chanuka present!

The 50 lb. bag of sand I used was $3.69.  And then I used about 6 cups of corn starch, and a tablespoon of dish soap.  Plus water – I started with about 6 cups, since you need 50/50 mix of water and cornstarch to make Ooblek, and kept adding until it was the right consistency.What you Need to Make 50 lbs. of Kinetic Sand:

  • 50 lb. bag of sand:  $3.69
  • 6 cups Cornstarch – about half the container you see above comes out to less than $2.00 per recipe
  • Dish soap – I only needed a few tablespoons
  • Water

First, leave the bag in whatever bin/container you are using.  It will be much easier to slit the bottom and empty it:

20141030_111020

 

Add the cornstarch, and you can either use your hands or a trowel to mix.  I like to make my kids do all the work :) :

20141030_111203

Once the cornstarch is completely mixed with the sand – no clumps or visible patches of white, mix the water with the dish soap and add to the sand:

20141030_111529

We eventually gave up on using the shovel and went right to playing mixing the sand with our hands.  We added a bunch of toys, and my 2 year old literally played in it for about two hours straight.

20141030_114104

I added cups, spoons, cup measures, and cars.

20141030_114115

The sand held shape really well, and went on to build a castle:

20141030_114117

 

The perfect tools for open-ended sensory play that television can’t provide or hold his attention for nearly as long.

20141030_114133

 

The nice thing about Kinetic Sand, is that it doesn’t fly everywhere, and get in eyes.  However, I do recommend that if you use a shallow container like I did, that you keep a dust pan, broom or dust buster near by to catch any spills.  You can also keep it outside (in warm weather) or in a garage/basement, where clean up isn’t as much a necessity :).

The boys have gotten it out a few times to play with, and it’s been fairly easy to clean up.  There is something about sand and sensory play that captures their attention for hours at a time, and I think it’s totally worth the mess for that independent play time.

http://livingithaca.com

Thursday Dec. 22@ 7pm- Chanuka- Embracing our Inner Light- with Rabbi Sam Shor-This is the first of a new monthly lecture series to be held in conjunction \with Shir Hadash…There is no fee for these FREE lectures….3 Chopin Street, lower level

Leave a Reply

